Kenilworth village life: the daily commute


The correct response at breakfast on the B&B circuit is: “I’ll have the full English, please.”

This will elicit the following: “And would you be wanting the… (at this point the voice is lowered to a whisper) …’extras’ with that?”

On no account should you agree, as this sort of encouragement results in various offerings of offal.

Breakfast also holds amusement as the various Europeans (The B&B has some sort of foreign student connection) never fail to be appalled at the plunger coffee, that they give the ultimate put-down: “American coffee”.

After breakfast, I the collect my gear from my vast 2 m^2 allotment. The event of flat screen TV sets must have had a huge impact on English B&Bs. They could immediately build 20% more rooms.

Some hardware details: I have a dual role pedals.
Here’s my setup as a MAMIL (“Middle Aged Man In Lycra”):

And here’s me as a VOMIT (“Very Old Man In Tights”):

And here’s me having lost one bolt on my shoe and unable to disengage the clip, hopping in the supermarket:

OK, Now I’m on my way. How very English:

The local modern supermarket, “Waitrose” (an English Migros?), has the village history written on the walls. Kenilworth first mentioned by Henry I, 1086.

First I pass the Abbey Fields. It really is this beautiful.

Then, the local castle:

Then, most importantly, the local bike shop. Not sure if this is the same Mike Vaughan as captained the English cricket team, but it is a very good bike shop if you are in Kenilworth. The building dates from 1400AD. They have promised me a bike box.

A local house:
(No, not really, this is actually Anne Hathaway’s cottage.)

Some days look like this:

After 5 km, at the top of Gibbet Hill there is a diversion. But a good kind, bikes can go through, traffic can’t. Traffic free to the uni.

After a hard day on the computer, the evening repast varies. In the interest of a cycling tips tutorial, I recount the day I find myself in a hotel with a bath. (I am forced to live an itinerant lifestyle in various locations, as accommodation in the Midlands is tight).

A bath means washing day. My single pair of jeans need a wash after one months continuous wear.

The water in reality is far darker.

As is the resulting bathtub ring:

But I’ve read the Cat-in-the-Hat, so no problem, I can get rid of that ring.

The drying, however, is more problematic. First the towel squeeze:

Luckily the room also has a “Corby Trousers Press” or “HosenBuegler”.

In the morning? Yes, still wet pants. On the bike and for the rest of the day. Yeah, I’ve done worse….

This entry was posted in commuting, gänz Europanische. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kenilworth village life: the daily commute

  1. Vincent Free (and his mother) says:

    Sounds fun says Vin… do have a good chortle as the missives arrive. So which is it, MOMIL or VOMIT? The latter does have a certain ring to it…… : ) Keep having fun, M and V

    • Mark says:

      Hi V & M,
      re: MAMIL/VOMIT: I think I might be in transition…

      There is a whole new bike culture here. Many do not seem to wear helmets at all. The village has an actual milk truck. In pubs they have to pump the beer. Everything is in miles. Quaint/Weird.

Leave a Reply

