Sono Bugiarda


“Sono Bugiarda” – Google translate says: “I am a liar” – memory says: “I am a believer” – life is so complicated in Italian.

I used to think I could never die happy until I owned a light-weight Italian road bike. From today, I don’t have to worry about this anymore:
The ebay seller clearly knew his mark and in order for me to give him the $50 and grab the bike I had to walk past a carefully arranged array of 4 other complete 1980s bikes (Malvern Star, Richardo, Apollo and something else). “Lets say $120 for all five.”

And yet I didn’t bite, and he was astounded. But none of the other bikes were Italian and they looked bloated beside the svelte lines of the Viner. And they all had claw rear derailleurs – I long ago decided that life is too short to bother with bikes with claw derailleurs. So I walked away. With my new Italian friend.

Of course one always dreams of finding something with all Campagnola bits, but after getting acquainted, it’s actually more of an international effort.
Japan: Tange headset, Shimano derailleurs
I’d never seen these before, and it took me a while to find out that these are called the “Golden Arrow” model, made between 1983-’86. Rare? – probably. Any good? – not really. It’s the 1st generation of 105, a step down from Shimano 600 of the same era.

France: Rear Brakes: CLB; Handlebars: St Entienne ; Rear Hub: Pelissier.
The rim is only 15mm wide – barely enough for the valve hole. The hub is quality maybe I should do a bespoke respoke. The cluster is 13-15-17-19-21-24 (reasonable compared to the ridiculous 13-14-15-16-19-21 originally on Miranda’s Viner).

Italy: Cranks: 52/42 Ofmega; Bottom Bracket (Oh no!) Italian thread!
That threaded hole is ~1 mm larger diameter than 99.99% of the world’s bikes. Also both sides are right handed threads (one side tends to unscrew)…. Life’s complicated? No, it’s Italian!

And of course the beautiful Italian frame:
Whoa, check out those heart-shaped cutouts!

Yes, she is showing a bit of rust and rubber rot.

But underneath there is steel – “Tubi Special In Acciaio” Google tells me: “Special steel tubes” – things sound much better in Italian.

OK, it’s not the top of the line “seamless Columbus SL” tubing that is on top Viner models of the day that have the characteristic “stars” or “crosses” for cutouts. Advice from the forums: “If the seat tube is 27.2mm internal diameter. you may have something really special; if it’s 26.2 mm, it’s still a nice bike.” It’s 26.2 mm.

It’s still a nice bike, you’ll be seeing this one around.

This entry was posted in ebay, panache, retro restoration, style, Viner. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sono Bugiarda

  1. Gerald Pierce says:

    Thought you might want to know that I have one from the same era. I can tell you that they clean up really nice! I have pictures if you want to see them. I think (not really sure) that I have a full set of decals still. Will be putting it up for auction within the month on eBay here in California.
    Campy gruppo.

  2. A viner professional was made with columbus SL and equipped with nuovo record – there were two people who raced viners around here in the 1980’s. This looks to be a late 70’s or early 80’s one. The word ‘Special’ meant one-off custom at one time in Italy (or top of the line), but it kinda got watered down by the end of the 70’s. It looks to be in beautiful shape – you should think about getting the decals cleared, because I don’t think that this bike had a top coat, and the decals will be fragile. 111 will work but might be a little wide. Be sure and get a 70 mm one, because of the italian bottom bracket. Post us some piktoors when you get it going.

  3. Nicole says:

    I am loving the hockey tape handlebars. I think as long as you have a Aggasi esq mullet and an American football jersey on whilst riding this amazing machine you can hold your head high.
    Nic

  4. Mal says:

    Can I have a whinge here for a moment. Proud bike manufacturers aren’t what they used to be. Don’t trust anything built post about 1980. Or listen to any music developed since that date.

    I have a motorised bike built in Bavaria – a small plastic piece in the engine has malfunctioned. Broken to be exact, as diagnosed by modified stethescope. Cost for a new plastic piece is $22.50. Cost to replace said plastic piece is estimated at $4400. The use of plastic in a high performance twin piston aero derived engine where the normal oil temperature is 100 degrees on the celsius scale? When did this sort of practice start? What happened to palladium, platinum or other exotic but bomb proof metals that carry the punter several thousand kilometres? What happened to machinery that could be dissembled, broken piece replaced and reassembled on the kitchen table with only small pieces left over that didn’t seem to matter anyway? I’ve been fooled, haven’t I?

  5. Mal says:

    Jonno’s birthday in a week … I feel the $120 may have been well spent.

  6. Anonymous says:

    Top stuff Mark ready for the Epic?

    • Mark says:

      Oh yeah….I’m ready.
      And I’m making a stab in the dark here, but is Anonymous actually Keith “my second bike is also a Colnago” Young? I’m right aren’t I? As an Italian bike owner, I now have this sixth sense about sensing other Italian bike owners.

  7. 888riley says:

    That is unbelievably cool.

  8. Miranda ;) says:

    lovely, it is so cute that we can have matching bikes!

Leave a Reply

