Rejoice! (Our Land is girt by sea)

BicycleBoysRejoice

I have so many bike pictures! I have to divest myself. Just the ones in the “bikes in art” category extends to various specialized sub- folders, down to the “bikes in art on car bonnets”
tumblr_lgrkz68F3T1qa0m3lo1_500

People’s ideas of art are different. Here’s Tom Boonen’s take:
bom-toonen

All things come to an end, and so it is with me and the Epic. The problem now is that I am left with literally 1000’s of bike photos that have been curated over the past few years. I considered just dumping everything here but it would be just too much. I’m just going to pull out some representative examples.
There is a very long series of Rock n’ Roll bike related photos. Here’s a nice sneering Elvis:
ElvisSneers

And Patti Smith
pattismith_pattibike502

And I must admit, there are a disturbing number of “girls on bikes” photos on my hard-drive (people keep sending me stuff). And the various sub-genres: “tattooed girls on bikes”, ” tattooed bike-polo girls”, etc. Here’s one of Leah, a rare example of a female back tandem tattoo:
tandem

Another of my female favorites: Tiffany Cromwell
Trofeo Alfredo Binda - Comune di Cittiglio 2014

I also have a large number of podium trophies. Here’s the trophy for Tro-Bro Léon in Brittany:
tro_bro_2010

And the hat trophy at Pias Vasco with a fingerbang:
PaisVasco4

Then there is the whole genre of inter-war German post-cards (zwischenkriegs deutschen Postkartensammlung):
motor_pacing

My favorite folding bike ad: “Le Petit Bi”. (Yes we have a lot of ground to cover, best make yourself comfortable.)
petit-bi-early-version-advert

Then there are the thousands of pro-tattoos pics. You must remember being intrigued by Jack Bobridge’s arm. What did that modest tattoo say?
JackBobridge2

No matter, because there appear to be larger mysteries to interpret when he took his shirt off in the humidity of this years Tour de Langkawi.
Cycling: Tour Langkawi 2014/ Stage 5

This almost directly led to there being Epic Bobridge bidons. Mythical items never to eventuate:
BobridgeBottle

Although my personal favorite:
Viner

This one historical:
WaggaBottle
The Wagga Wagga Kangaroos, 1915. I read the motto on this as “100 out – 10 return”. Pretty grim. Until a bit of googling shows the motto to actually be a more positive: “I go out to return” (“by Courage and Faith, for King & Country”).

This one a bicycle Australian Coat of Arms made before Federation:
AustraliaBottle
This was suggested by Punch in 1896, such was the enthusiasm for cycling in Australia in the 19th century.

And BTW, speaking of history, where was Australia’s first Velodrome? Sydney? Melbourne? Extraordinarily, it seems to have been at Mystery Bay, built by the Bicycle Club of Corunna in 1892. The hard men of Corunna Point:
nla.pic-an2501767-v
MysteryBay5

You can still see traces of it, amazing. It’d certainly be worth a look (click here to open in Google maps):
MysteryBay

There are various all sorts of images in the “pro” category. This is one of my favorites of Bernard Hinault.
BernardHasAPegBag
Although, who would have picked him for being a “peg-bag” man? I assumed he was more of a “pegs-left-on-the-line” type guy. It’s hard to pick the French sometimes.

And here is my favorite Eddy Merckx pic:
404MerkyxOK I admit it, the 404 Peugeot had something to do with the choice.

Commuter pics? I think this one has style.
Trout

And this is amazing:
18039That’s jumping a ramp with 7 kids and knee-high boots!

I’m sure you’ve been waiting for one of Mario (like a Tiiiger):
FScipo1

Italians have no shame:
walmart1

The 70’s have no shame (like a Tiiiger):
tiger

What have I left out? The cute animal pics.
Hamster

The rapture pics.
Rapture

The suitcases of courage pics.
wurstkoffer
I’m done. Email me if you want to read my poems. See you on a ride!

This entry was posted in inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rejoice! (Our Land is girt by sea)

  1. Wendy Riley says:

    Great fun!! How about the Xmas Epic book? Pity to waste such an accumulation of inspirational pics!

  2. Gerry Pierce says:

    You guys are enough to make me move to OZ (almost). It doesn’t hurt that you like Viners. I have a nice 54 cm Viner Pro from the late ’80’s that I’m going to list on eBay. But first, after reading your posts on and off for the past several years, I thought I would see if you’re interested.

    Has a campy group and (are you ready for this) has been ridden less that a kilo-klk. It has been bagged and stored in dry nitrogen for around 30 years. The rubber on the brake levers looks like it just came from the factory. IF you are interested (IF) then send me a way to get some pictures to you.
    I am in California, so shipping needs to be considered, but I can do a great job of packaging.
    What do you say?

Leave a Reply

